Charlaine Harris’ 10th Book Entitled Dead In The Family

September 6, 2009 by  

collageCharlaine Harris has announced the title of her 10th book in the Sookie Stackhouse Southern Vampire series entitled “Dead In The Family” which is set to be released May 2010Charlaine wrote on her blog that the concept for Dead In The Family was originally different from the book that she ended up writing.  She states that at first she thought that her 10th book would be very episodic, however it turned out to have a very unifying theme and “to have a crazy night of resolution.”

The Amazon UK site has posted a summary of the tenth Sookie Stackhouse novel, Dead in the Family, but as to whether or not it is correct it may be too early to say   The states the following synopsis:

Sookie Stackhouse has finally settled into a relationship with the Viking vampire Eric, and her errant brother Jason seems to have his life in order too. But all the other people in Sookie‘s life –Eric himself, her former lover Bill, her friend and boss Sam-are having family problems. Eric‘s maker shows up with Eric‘s ‘brother’ in tow, the ailing Bill can only be healed by a blood sibling, and Sam‘s brother’s marriage is about to take place…or will it? The furor raised by the coming out of the two-natured has yet to settle; some people are just not ready to sit down to dinner with a man who turns into a dog. And Sookie herself is still recovering from her last ordeal. She’s definitely improving, physically and mentally, but she’s always going to have some dark moments to show. The werewolves tell her that there have been strange and ominous passersby in the Stackhouse woods; now Sookie is about to come face-to-face with one of ther distant relatives.

(Photo credit:

  • Angie

    I am a huge fan of the Sookie series. I am getting ready to read the 10th book and I really want Sookie and Eric to stay together!!! Bill loves her but he is very uptight, and I am just not a huge fan of his. I just hope she can stay with Eric and quit having so many love interests.

  • C. wilson

    I got the tenth book right away. Devoured it. I’m waiting for the next one. Please hurry. I’m reading other stuff, but still going back and reading Sookie over and over. I watch the TV HBO series, but I’m not liking Sookie as much. Spoiled from the books. But I watch each episode over 20 times.

  • Vicky

    I think that from book 6 and to 10 was kind of slow…
    And I don’t like when Sookie and Eric talks and when they’re about to speak about something important and interesting something happens and they gets interrupted.
    But I love the Sookie Stackhouse books.
    I dosen’t like Bill, never liked him.

  • I am on book 10 and it is moving very slow. I usually read a book in 2 days I have been on this one for 2 weeks and still not finished. I hope the next one is better. I really hope she ends up with Bill he really can’t get a break. Erik is a boy toy where Bill really loves her.

  • Debra

    I was wondering if anyone knows when book 11 will release? I am a huge fan of the Southern Vampire Series, every book always has such a unique twist, but book 10 seamed kind of bland to me, there just wasn’t as much action and lust in Sookies life this time. I felt that she was tying up loose ends in her life, I hope that doesn’t mean the series is gonna end soon. I guess cause i keep hoping for Bill and Sookie to get back together, but it seams pretty clear now that its not gonna happen. Uh! I guess I will just have to wait.

    • jaxx

      CH releases a new Sookie book the first Tuesday of May every year. The next one will be May of 2011.

  • Cynthia Wilson

    My husband got the book for me before Mothers Day, I’m on the third read. I enjoy this book, Dead in the Family, please get the next one out soon! I absolutely love your characters, please don’t kill off Eric! I like how Sookie changes internally with her experiences, learns and gets stronger. Thank you …

  • grace

    Thanks for the info Natalie. I’ll read the other books. I have read the other 7, 3 times and every time I find a little something I missed. They are such fun without the scariness of Anne Rice books. I can’t wait to get no. 10 and I will let you know how I feel about Erik and Sookie

    • Hi Grace!

      I would just like to include my perspective. I too have read all the books but still cheer for Bill and Sookie. There are many of us out there who have read the book at still love Bill. I don’t want to get into a long story as to why but I will just say I can read between the lines and see how much he loves Sookie. Also that circumstances beyond his control seemed to keep knocking him down from having happiness with Sookie.

      • Danielle

        Finally somebody who see’s Bill character from my point of view.

  • grace

    I also think Sookie should end up with Bill eventually. Erik is like a Norse God. a bit too much for Sookie.

    • Natalie

      Grace, you are entitled to your opinion, however get back to us AFTER you have read all the books. I’ve recently finished Book 10 and I’m still of the opinion that Eric is the one for Sookie. They both share a zest for life & the sparks are undeniable. Love Book 10 by the way.

  • grace

    I love the Charlaine Harris books. and can’t wait to read book 10 in the Sookie series. But what happened to 8 and 9 books? I read the first 7. didn’t think there were more. Anyone know what they are ? If they exist

    • Natalie

      Grace, Book 8 is “From Dead to Worse”, Book 9 is “Dead & Gone” and Book 10 is “Dead in the Family”. There is also a short story Sookie Stackhouse book called “A touch of Dead”. “Night’s Edge” is another book by CH with the backstory of Sean & Layla the Vamp Dancers that performed during the Summit in Rhodes (Book 7).

      • jaxx

        Read them all and loved books 7, 8 and 9. 10 seemed to drag for me and was a little flat, although I love her still with Eric. The vampire summit was the best. There is also “A Touch of Dead” which is a compilation of short Sookie stories. I loved Dracula’s Night myself but they are all good.

  • Danielle

    I hope she end up with Bill or someone else, to me matching her with Eric is just to obvious.

  • Cera

    I love the sookie books, i hope Eric and Sookie really do end up Getting Hitched offically, Not Eric’s protective engagement. Lol, But Seriously Bill needs an attitude check, Just cause he lost Sookie to Eric Doesnt mean he can be a jerk most of the time ;D

  • Sharon

    WoW….. I love the whole Sookie Stackhouse novels can’t wait to read the next chaper so to speak , I love Erik!

  • eedie

    OMG it sounds sooooooooooooooooooooooo good 😀
    i can’t wait haha

  • Randy

    Can’t wait till the next book is out! hope sookie still choose for Erik! love them as a couple!

  • shyloh maksymchuk

    I am soooooo excited for the next sookie stackhouse book!!!!!!!

  • Wilson

    I hope Charlaine has had her Eric! I have all the books, and have them to read digitally also. When I finish one, I go on to the next, just over and over again. I catch inconsistencies, but who cares, I’m way too critical for my own enjoyment. I’m editing a book now for a friend. It’s not easy. Ms. Harris, you are one amazing woman.